Loading Events
01 Guttuso, Renato

Opening: Flashes of the Future

Opening: Thursday, 19th April 2018, 7 pm

19.04.18,19:00

1968 – No other year in the 20th century is given such a symbolic and iconic status, no other year is studded with myths, evokes associations, viewed with bias, and kindles emotions. A year in which protests, upheavals, and even revolutions took place in numerous countries around the globe: May 1968 stands for international youth and protest cultures in 56 countries, 22 European ones amongst them, but also for an art breaking out of its elitist ivory tower – parallel to this, masses of individuals in the Western world begin to strive for autonomy. It is first through the interaction between students, intellectuals, and artists that a cultural revolution capable of disrupting the authoritarian structures of societies in both East and West could take place. Above all, artists, declaring the artwork to be obsolete while in part working massively against the art market and a commercially utilizable commodity ‘art’, contributed significantly to the desires and the imaginative visions of the student movement finding expression in provocative and pithy signs and images and exerting power over reality (“all power to the imagination!”).

From the distance of half a century, 2018 is the perfect opportunity to take a comprehensive and transdisciplinary look at this key year of the twentieth century (and its place as the midpoint of a decade). The exhibition will show and analyze for the first time the ideas, actions, myths, and self-interpretations of this generation by concurrently looking at them through the mirror of artistic productions and practices. Ultimately, the aim is to provide a new and critical perspective on the years around 1968.

The International Newspaper Museum Aachen as cooperation partner, will fulfill the ambitions of the exhibition and publication project with a special contribution – a satellite exhibition focusing on the role of the media. Of particular interest here is the influence exerted by the Hamburg-based publishing house Springer on public opinion in the 1960s and how this influence was generated and used.

In conjunction with the exhibition, a comprehensive publication will appear in the “Zeitbilder” series of the Federal Agency for Civic Education (eds. Andreas Beitin and Eckhart Gillen).

A cooperation with the Federal Agency for Civic Education, the Internationales Zeitungsmuseum Aachen and the University Archives of the RWTH Aachen University.

With generous support from the Ministry for Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia, the Peter and Irene Ludwig Foundation, the Kulturstiftung der Länder, and the LVR – Quality for People.

Patron of the exhibition: Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier

Curators: Andreas Beitin und Eckhart Gillen
Project management: Esther Boehle
Curatorial assistants: Sabine Halver and Sonja Wunderlich

INFO

Jülicher Straße 97-109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 241 1807-104
Fax +49 241 1807-101

info@ludwigforum.de 

Opening hours

Tue–Sun 10 am–5 pm
Thu 10 am–8 pm
Mon closed

Library: Closed from 16.07. – 03.08.2018

Closed: 24.12., 25.12., 31.12., 01.01.,
During Carnival Thu & Sun

ADMISSION

from 20.04.2018: 10 € / reduced 6 €
combiticket LUFO + IZM 12 € / reduced 8 €
Groups starting from 8 persons 6 €/pers.
„Six for Six“-Ticket 14 € (reduced 10 €)
„Auf ins Museum“-Ticket 12 €
Everyone under 21 years of age: Free Admission!

From now on:
Zentis-Day: Every Thursday free Admission!

Lade Veranstaltungen

Eröffnung: Flashes of the Future

Donnerstag, 19. April 2018, 19 Uhr

19.04.18,19:00

 

1968 – kaum einem anderen Jahr kommt im 20. Jahrhundert ein derart symbolischer Status zu, keines ist so besetzt mit Mythen, Vorurteilen und Emotionen. Es ist ein Jahr, in dem in zahlreichen Ländern der Welt Proteste oder Revolutionen stattfanden: der Mai 1968 steht für internationale Jugend- und Protestkulturen in 56 Ländern, darunter in 22 europäischen, aber auch für eine aus ihrem elitären Elfenbeinturm ausbrechende Kunst – parallel dazu beginnt sich auch die Masse der Individuen in der westlichen Welt zu autonomisieren. Student/innen, Intellektuelle und Künstler/innen arbeiteten eng zusammen, um gegen die autoritären Strukturen der Gesellschaften zu kämpfen und Kulturrevolutionen hervorzurufen. Vor allem die bildenden Künstler/innen, die das Kunstwerk als Ware für obsolet erklärten, trugen dazu bei, dass die Wünsche und Fantasien der Studentenbewegung ihren Ausdruck in signifikanten Zeichen und Bildern fanden und Macht über die Realität bekamen.

Aus der Distanz von einem halben Jahrhundert blickt die Ausstellung zurück und beleuchtet erstmals in Abgrenzung zu den bisher zu dem Themenkomplex realisierten Schauen die Ideen, Aktionen, Mythen und Selbst-Deutungen einer Generation im Spiegel ihrer künstlerischen Produkte und Praktiken, um deutlich zu machen, aus welchem Geist die damaligen Aktionsformen und künstlerischen Sprachen entsprungen sind und welchen nicht zu überschätzenden Wert sie noch heute besitzen.

Das Internationale Zeitungsmuseum Aachen wird als Kooperationspartner im Rahmen einer Satelliten-Ausstellung seinen Fokus auf die Rolle der Medien legen. Unter dem Stichwort „Springer“ soll hier insbesondere dargestellt werden, welchen Einfluss der Hamburger Verlag auf die öffentliche Meinungsbildung in den 1960er-Jahren hatte und wie er diese beeinflusst hat.
Parallel zur Ausstellung erscheint eine umfassende Publikation, die im Rahmen der Reihe Zeitbilder bei der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung veröffentlicht wird.

Eine Kooperation mit der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung, dem Internationales Zeitungsmuseum Aachen und dem Hochschularchiv der RWTH Aachen.

Mit großzügiger Unterstützung des Ministeriums für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen, der Peter und Irene Ludwig Stiftung, der Kulturstiftung der Länder, und des LVR – Qualität für Menschen

Schirmherr der Ausstellung: Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier

Kuratoren: Andreas Beitin und Eckhart Gillen
Projektleitung: Esther Boehle
Kuratorisch-wissenschaftliche Assistenzen: Sabine Halver und Sonja Wunderlich

Info

Jülicher Straße 97–109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 241 1807-104
Fax +49 241 1807-101

info@ludwigforum.de

Öffnungszeiten

Di–So 10–17 Uhr
Do 10–20 Uhr
Montags geschlossen

Sonderausstellung
8,00 € / erm. 5,00 €

Bibliothek:
Di–Fr 13–17 Uhr

Geschlossen: 24.12., 25.12., 31.12., Fettdonnerstag, Karnevals-
sonntag und Rosenmontag

Preise

6,00 € / ermäßigt 3,00 €
„Six for Six“-Karte 14 € (ermäß. 10 €)
„Auf ins Museum“-Karte 12 €
Alle unter 21 Jahren: Eintritt frei!

Zentis-Tag: Jeden Donnerstag freier Eintritt!