Loading Events
Alternative view
of the calendar
Kinder Königreich

A Children’s Kingdom

Paweł Althamer and Friends

01.06.14–21.09.14

Program A Children’s Kingdom:
All Dates from 2014, June to September

This summer the Polish artist Paweł Althamer is to undertake a diverse, subtle, and experimental art project. For four months, from June 1 through to September 21, he and his friends from the artist group Reactor – Sculpture Lab based in Warsaw will move into the Ludwig Forum and seek to shed light on themes such as power, authority, and freedom from a completely different perspective: from the standpoint of children. The motivation to try something so different and daring is the 1200th anniversary of the death of Charlemagne, one of the most powerful rulers in the Middle Ages.

Together with hundreds of children and youths a Children’s Kingdom will be established that shall extend from the garden and courtyard of the Ludwig Forum, out across public space, and finally annex St Elisabeth’s Church opposite. In workshops and performance actions these locations will be regenerated and transformed: the Church occupied, the surrounds changed, stories fabricated and told, costumes designed, a monument created. The motor propelling these artistic transformations is the candid naivety and creativity of children, which opens up new perspectives for adults as well.

A Draftsmen’s Congress will take place in the heart of the museum. Here walls and floors may be used for drawings – an open invitation to everyone to enter dis-cussions via drawn images. In addition, an Open Academy will provide a platform to create their own works, and these will then be shown in an exhibition.

The proposed highlight will be a festival and parade in fantasy uniforms on the main road in front of the museum – should the children go along with the proposal. They have namely the freedom to carry out the projects in line with their own visions. Althamer and his artist friends, who will be frequently in Aachen for the duration of the project, will lend their support to the young artists and performers, acting as catalysts in the artistic process.

It is part of Paweł Althamer’s strategy to undermine existing systems of rules and evoke new models of action. Whether sculpture, film, or the four months of a Children’s Kingdom: his works are critical of institutions, committed to exploring social issues, and self-reflective. And as results of a process they are at the same time a topic that is concretely present and a carrier of social and aesthetic experience.

Four elements are at the forefront of his works: interaction, self-reflection, participation, and the process. “I believe that art is an open field of communication, more open than politics and religion. Today’s art practice is more in flux and in communication with other areas than everything else, and it resembles most closely what we call freedom.” (Althamer)

Althamer’s concern is to identify action-oriented experiments with freedom. As if testing out what freedom is, he took to the streets of Kassel dressed in a startling full astronaut suit during documenta X. To draw attention to his “inner homelessness” he moved into a tree house in front of the Foksal Gallery in Warsaw for a longer period. In other works he disappears as it were, becoming a participating observer in a collective, or he melts into the background completely. In 2006 for instance, upon being offered a solo exhibition in the Centre Pompidou, he instead sent eleven young colleagues to Paris.

Often he turns the spotlight on people whose voices usually go unheard. These include the homeless, prison inmates, migrants or children and youths without any prospects. For them, and together with them, he conceives of microcosms in which his greatest project, the interpenetration of art and life, can take place. At Skulptur Projekte Münster 2007, Althamer, ably helped by prison inmates, trod down a trail that led visitors through the landscape on the outskirts of town, only to abruptly end in a cornfield. Althamer: “To be in a process, that is the point. […] My work is all about getting others to comprehend this.”

The Aachen project Children’s Kingdom draws on the book King Matt by the author and physician Janusz Korczak, who was murdered in the Nazi extermination camp of Treblinka. Exploring the idea of a children’s republic, the project enters the contemporary discourses on freedom and power as well as organization and politics, while inverting the hierarchical relationship between adults and children. As a contemporary commentary on these issues the project raises questions as to the importance of the youngest members of our society, the situation in which they have to live, their wishes and their ideas of freedom. The Children’s Kingdom is thus a laboratory for democracy and democratic practice.

Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament, will act as patron of the exhibition

 

Paweł Althamer
Born in Warsaw in 1967, Althamer has firmly established himself in the international art scene since the mid-1990s. He has taken part for example in documenta X (1997) in Kassel, Manifesta 3 (2000) in Ljubljana, the 50th Biennale in Venice (2003), the 4th and 7th Berlin Biennales (2006, 2012), the Skulptur Projekte Münster (2007), as well as the most recent Venice Biennale (2013). Important museums have held solo exhibitions for the artist, including the Kunsthalle Basel (1997), the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago (2001), the Centre Pompidou in Paris (2006), and the New Museum in New York (2014). In 2004 the Bonnefantenmuseum in Maastricht awarded the artist the Vincent van Gogh Bi-Annual Award for Contemporary Art in Europe. The Aachen Kunstpreis followed in 2010.

Documentation of the projekt on Tumblr
http://kinderkoenigreich.tumblr.com/

Artists: Paweł Althamer, Czarli Bajka, Paweł Chmielewski, Konrad Chmielewski, Witold Nazarkiewicz, Przemysław Pietrzak, Tomasz Waszczeniuk and Anna Zielińska

Curators: Dr. Brigitte Franzen and Esther Boehle
Assistant Curator: Julia Küchle

Entry to the museum is free of charge during The Children’s Kingdom!

Supporters: German Federal Cultural Foundation, BMW Group, Verein der Freunde des Ludwig Forums, Adam Mickiewicz Institute, Peter und Irene Ludwig Stiftung, VW-Stiftung

Cooperation partner: stadtteilbüro aachen nord (Soziale Stadt Aachen-Nord)

Media partner: WDR 3

 

A Children’s Kingdom,Installation Views and program

KiKö_3

 

KiKö_4

 

KiKö_5

 

KiKö_6

 

KiKö_7
Photos: Carl Brunn / Ludwig Forum Aachen

INFO

Jülicher Straße 97-109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 241 1807-104
Fax +49 241 1807-101

info@ludwigforum.de 

Opening hours

Tue–Sun 10 am–5 pm
Thu 10 am–8 pm
Mon closed

Library: Tue–Fri 1 pm–5 pm

Closed: 24.12., 25.12., 31.12.,
During Carnival Thu & Sun

ADMISSION

Admission(Art x Cuba/ 08.09.17–18.02.18)
Adults 10 €
Reduced 6 €
Groups starting from 8 persons 6 €/pers.
„Six for Six“-Ticket 14 € (reduced 10 €)
„Auf ins Museum“-Ticket 12 €
Everyone under 21 years of age: Free Admission!

From now on:
Zentis-Day: Every Thursday free Admission!

Veranstaltungen laden
Kinder Königreich

Kinderkönigreich

Paweł Althamer und Freunde laden ein

01.06.14–21.09.14

Rahmenprogramm Kinderkönigreich:
Alle Termine von Juni bis September 2014

Diesen Sommer lädt der polnische Künstler Paweł Althamer zu einem vielgestaltigen, hintergründigen und experimentellen Kunstprojekt ein. Für vier Monate, vom 1. Juni bis 21. September, zieht er mit der befreundeten Künstler-gruppe Reactor – Sculpture Lab aus Warschau ins Ludwig Forum ein, um Themen wie Macht, Herrschaft und Freiheit einmal aus einer ganz anderen Perspektive zu beleuchten: aus Sicht der Kinder. Anlass ist das 1200. Todesjahr Karls des Großen, einem der mächtigsten Herrscher des Mittelalters.

Zusammen mit Hunderten Kindern und Jugendlichen wird ein „Kinderkönigreich“ errichtet, das sich vom Garten und dem Hof des Ludwig Forum über den öffentlichen Raum bis in die gegenüberliegende Elisabethkirche erstreckt. In Workshops und Aktionen werden diese Orte belebt und verwandelt: eine Kirche besetzt, die Umgebung verändert, Geschichten erfunden, Kostüme entworfen, ein Monument erschaffen. Motor dieser künstlerischen Transformationen ist dabei die Naivität und Kreativität des Kindseins, welche auch für Erwachsene neue Perspektiven eröffnen.

Im Herzen des Museums findet ein Zeichner-Kongress statt. Hier dürfen Wände und Boden bemalt werden  – eine Einladung an alle, mittels Bildern zu diskutieren. In einer offenen Akademie können zudem eigene Kunstwerke erschaffen werden, die anschließend in einer Ausstellung zu sehen sind.

Höhepunkt sollen ein Fest und eine Parade in Phantasieuniformen auf der Hauptverkehrsstraße vor dem Museum sein – wenn die Kinder und Jugendlichen mitspielen. Denn sie haben erklärtermaßen den Freiraum, die Projekte ganz nach ihren eigenen Visionen umzusetzen. Althamer und seine Künstlerfreunde, die sich während der gesamten Laufzeit des Projektes immer wieder in Aachen aufhalten werden, stehen den Akteuren als Katalysatoren im künstlerischen Prozess zur Seite.

Es gehört zu Paweł Althamers Strategie, bestehende Regelsysteme zu untergraben und neue Handlungsmuster hervorzurufen. Ob Skulptur, Film oder vier Monate Kinderkönigreich: Seine Arbeiten sind institutionskritisch, sozial engagiert, selbstreflexiv. Und sie sind als Ergebnisse eines Prozesses zugleich präsenter Gegenstand und Träger gesellschaftlicher und ästhetischer Erfahrung.

In seiner Arbeit stehen vier Elemente im Vordergrund: die Interaktion, die Selbstreflexion, die Teilhabe und das Prozesshafte. „Ich glaube, Kunst ist ein offenes Feld der Kommunikation, offener als Politik und Religion. Heutige Kunstpraxis ist mehr im Fluss und in Kommunikation mit anderen Bereichen als    alles andere, sie ähnelt am meisten dem, was man Freiheit nennt.“ (Althamer)

Althamer geht es um eine handlungsorientierte Erprobung von Freiheit. So lief er während der documenta X als aufsehenerregender Astronaut durch Kassels Straßen. Und um auf seine innere Obdachlosigkeit aufmerksam zu machen, richtete er sich längerfristig in einem Baumhaus vor der Foksal Gallery in Warschau ein. In anderen Arbeiten geht er als teilnehmender Beobachter im Kollektiv auf oder tritt ganz in den Hintergrund. So schickte er 2006, als ihm eine Einzelausstellung im Centre Pompidou angeboten wurde, elf junge Kollegen an seiner Stelle nach Paris, um diese zu realisieren.

Oft rückt er Menschen ins Rampenlicht, die gewöhnlich wenig Gehör finden. Dazu gehören Obdachlose, Gefängnisinsassen, Migranten oder perspektivlose Kinder und Jugendliche. Für sie und mit ihnen gemeinsam konzipiert er Mikrokosmen, in denen sich sein großes Projekt, die Durchdringung von Kunst und Leben, verwirklicht. Bei Skulptur Projekte Münster 2007 etwa legte Althamer mit Hilfe von Gefängnis-insassen einen Trampelpfad an, der die Besucher durch die Landschaft am Stadtrand führte, um schließlich in einem Kornfeld abrupt zu enden. Althamer: „Im Prozess sein, das ist der Punkt. […] In meiner Arbeit geht es darum, andere dies auch begreifen zu lassen.“

Das Aachener Projekt Kinderkönigreich greift das Buch König Hänschen des im NS-Vernichtungslager Treblinka ermordeten Autors und Arztes Janusz Korczak auf, in dem es um die Idee einer Kinderrepublik geht. Es thematisiert den Diskurs über Freiheit und Macht, Organisation und Politik sowie die Umkehrung des Verhältnisses zwischen Erwachsenen und Kindern. Als zeitgenössischer Kommentar dazu stellt das Projekt Fragen nach der Bedeutung der Jüngsten in unserer Gesellschaft, deren Existenzbedingungen, Wünschen und Ideen von Freiheit. So wird das Kinderkönigreich zum Demokratielabor.

Die Ausstellung steht unter der Schirmherrschaft von Martin Schulz, Präsident des Europäischen Parlaments.


Paweł Althamer

1967 in Warschau geboren, hat sich seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre als feste Größe in der internationalen Kunstszene etabliert. So war er zum Beispiel Teilnehmer der documenta X (1997) in Kassel, der Manifesta 3 (2000) in Ljubljana, der 50. Biennale in Venedig (2003), der 4. und 7. Berlin Biennale (2006, 2012), der Skulptur Projekte Münster (2007) sowie der letzten Biennale in Venedig (2013). Bedeutende Museen richteten Einzelausstellungen für den Künstler aus, darunter die Kunsthalle Basel (1997), das Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago (2001), das Pariser Centre Pompidou (2006) und das New Museum in New York (2014). Das Bonnefanten-museum in Maastricht verlieh dem Künstler 2004 den Vincent van Gogh Bi-annual Award for Contemporary Art in Europe. 2010 folgte der Aachener Kunstpreis.

Begleitung und Dokumentation des Projekts auf Tumblr
http://kinderkoenigreich.tumblr.com/

Künstler: Paweł Althamer, Czarli Bajka, Paweł Chmielewski, Konrad Chmielewski, Witold Nazarkiewicz, Przemysław Pietrzak, Tomasz Waszczeniuk und Anna Zielińska

Kuratorinnen: Dr. Brigitte Franzen, Esther Boehle
Kuratorische Assistenz: Julia Küchle

Der Museumseintritt ist während der Ausstellung Kinderkönigreich frei!

Förderer: Kulturstiftung des Bundes, BMW Group, Verein der Freunde des Ludwig Forums, Adam Mickiewicz Institut, Peter und Irene Ludwig Stiftung, VW-Stiftung

Kooperationspartner: stadtteilbüro aachen nord (Soziale Stadt Aachen-Nord)

Medienpartner: WDR 3

 

Kinderkönigreich, Ausstellungsansichten und Rahmenprogramm

KiKö_3

 

KiKö_4

 

KiKö_5

 

KiKö_6

 

KiKö_7
Fotos: Carl Brunn / Ludwig Forum Aachen

Info

Jülicher Straße 97–109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 241 1807-104
Fax +49 241 1807-101

info@ludwigforum.de

Di, Mi, Fr 12–18 Uhr
Do 12–20 Uhr
Sa, So 11–18 Uhr
An Feiertagen 11–18 Uhr
Montags geschlossen

Geschlossen: 24.12., 25.12., 31.12., Fettdonnerstag, Karnevals-
sonntag und Rosenmontag

 

Preise

Eintrittspreise
Erwachsene 5 €
Ermäßigt 3 €
Familienticket 10 €
Gruppen ab 8 Pers. 3 €/Pers.
Gruppen ab 8 Pers. ermäßigt 2 €/Pers.
Kombikarte Museen (72 Stunden gültig) 10 €
Ermäßigt 6 €
Kombiticket Familien 20 €
Kombiticket Gruppen 6 €/Pers.
Ermäßigt 4 €/Pers.