Loading Events
Alternative view
of the calendar
Felix Oehmann

Le Souffleur

Schürmann meets Ludwig


Where Peter and Irene Ludwig say “Jeff Koons”, Gaby and Wilhelm Schürmann answer “Mike Kelley” or “Christopher Williams”. The major currents in art followed by the Ludwigs were counteracted by the Schürmanns who were drawn to context oriented positions informed by Institutional Critique and political art. In Le Souffleur these two different attitudes walk a path together: Wilhelm Schürmann was invited to

curate an exhibition with the Ludwig collection in mind. The result is an open and agile conception of art spaces in which works from both collections meet on level footing, an arrangement full of subtleties and interactive comments. Together both collections provide an unusually precise and comprehensive view of contemporary art since 1960. Into the early 1990s Peter and Irene Ludwig continually expanded their collection, guided by an inquiring spirit that seems absolutely unique today. In

particular the upheavals impacting on global society in the late 1980s and early 1990s resonated in their collection. And it is precisely here that the collection of Gaby and Wilhelm Schürmann sets a turning point, considering the history of art from the perspective of the collector.

The collection Gaby and Wilhelm Schürmann have assembled since the mid-1980s, is today one of the finest of contemporary art worldwide. Their focus is completely different, reflecting that they belong to a younger generation; along with the enormous political and social developments, their interest is how the art of their own and a younger generation have responded to such changes. The notion of world art needs to be explained in their view, and it is in any case very much shaped by its political implications.

Artists featured in the exhibition (selection): Monika Baer, Fiona Banner, Alice Creischer, Lygia Clark, Guerilla Girls, Richard Hamilton, Lee Lozano, Jewyo Rhii, Joëlle Tuerlinckx, Franz West, Heimo Zobernig, Heinrich Dunst, Anna Oppermann, Chuck Close, Valie Export, and many more.

Director: Dr. Brigitte Franzen
Curator: Wilhelm Schürmann
Curatorial Assistence: Josephine Mengedoht

Have a look at the fascinating frame program.

Behind the Scenes: Installation of the exhibition

Le Souffleur – Schürmann meets Ludwig, Installation Views







Photos: Carl Brunn / Ludwig Forum Aachen


Jülicher Straße 97-109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 241 1807-104
Fax +49 241 1807-101


Tue, Wed, Fri 12 – 6 pm
Thu 12 – 8 pm
Sat, Sun 11 am – 6 pm
On public holidays 11 am – 6 pm
Mon closed

Closed: 24.12., 25.12., 31.12.,
During Carnival Thu & Sun



Adults 5 €
Reduced 3 €
Family ticket 10 €
Groups starting from 8 persons 3 €/pers.
Groups reduced 2 €/pers.
Combiticket Museums (valid for 72h) 10 €
Reduced 6 €
Combiticket families 20€
Combiticket groups 6€
Reduced 4€

Veranstaltungen laden
Felix Oehmann

Le Souffleur

Schürmann trifft Ludwig

22.03.15–31.01.16

Wo Peter und Irene Ludwig „Jeff Koons“ sagen, antworten Gaby und Wilhelm Schürmann „Mike Kelley“ oder „Christopher Williams“. Die großen Ströme der Kunstentwicklung, denen die Ludwigs folgen, werden bei den Schürmanns konterkariert durch den Bezug auf institutionenkritische, kunst-politische und kontextorientierte Positionen.

Bei Le Souffleur legen diese beiden unterschiedlichen Haltungen einen gemeinsamen Weg zurück. Wilhelm Schürmann wurde eingeladen eine Ausstellung mit Blick auf die Sammlung Ludwig zu kuratieren. Entstanden ist ein offenes und bewegliches Konzept von Kunst-Räumen, in denen Werke der beiden Sammlungen einander auf Augenhöhe und subtil begegnen und sich gegenseitig kommentieren. Beide Sammlungen gemeinsam ermöglichen einen seltenen präzisen und übergreifenden Blick auf die Gegenwartskunst seit 1960.

Peter und Irene Ludwig haben bis in die frühen 1990er Jahre hinein ihre Sammlung stetig erweitert und waren von einem heute als einzigartig zu betrachtenden Forschergeist geleitet. Insbesondere die weltgesellschaftlichen Umbrüche der späten 1980er und frühen 1990er Jahre fanden starken Niederschlag in der Sammlung. An dieser Stelle setzt die Sammlung von Gaby und Wilhelm Schürmann einen turning point und dreht die Geschichte der Kunst aus Sammlerperspektive.

Die Sammlung, die Gaby und Wilhelm Schürmann seit Mitte der 1980er Jahre aufgebaut haben, gehört heute zu den feinsten Gegenwartskunst-Sammlungen der Welt. Ihr Focus ist ein ganz anderer, gehören sie doch zu einer jüngeren Generation, die neben den großen politisch-gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungs-schüben, die Kunst ihrer eigenen und einer noch jüngeren Generation im Blick haben. Der Begriff Weltkunst ist für sie kommentarbedürftig und vielmehr von einer politischen Verwickeltheit geprägt.

Künstler der Ausstellung (Auswahl):
Monika Baer, Fiona Banner, Alice Creischer, Lygia Clark, Guerilla Girls, Richard Hamilton, Lee Lozano, Jewyo Rhii, Joëlle Tuerlinckx, Franz West, Heimo Zobernig, Heinrich Dunst, Anna Oppermann, Chuck Close, Valie Export  u.v.m.

Direktion: Dr. Brigitte Franzen
Kurator: Wilhelm Schürmann
Kuratorische Assistenz: Josephine Mengedoht

Zur Ausstellung gibt es ein spannendes Rahmenprogramm.

Der Blick hinter die Kulissen: Film zum Aufbau von “Le Souffleur”

Le Souffleur – Schürmann trifft Ludwig, Ausstellungsansichten

1503_Souf-5109

 

1503_Souf-5359

 

1503_Souf-5378

 

1503_Souf-5490
Fotos: Carl Brunn / Ludwig Forum Aachen

Info

Jülicher Straße 97–109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 241 1807-104
Fax +49 241 1807-101

info@ludwigforum.de

Di, Mi, Fr 12–18 Uhr
Do 12–20 Uhr
Sa, So 11–18 Uhr
An Feiertagen 11–18 Uhr
Montags geschlossen

Geschlossen: 24.12., 25.12., 31.12., Fettdonnerstag, Karnevals-
sonntag und Rosenmontag

 

Preise

Eintrittspreise
Erwachsene 5 €
Ermäßigt 3 €
Familienticket 10 €
Gruppen ab 8 Pers. 3 €/Pers.
Gruppen ab 8 Pers. ermäßigt 2 €/Pers.
Kombikarte Museen (72 Stunden gültig) 10 €
Ermäßigt 6 €
Kombiticket Familien 20 €
Kombiticket Gruppen 6 €/Pers.
Ermäßigt 4 €/Pers.