Robert Smithson, Spiral Jetty, 1970, Foto: Anne Gold,© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, 2019

Observing Nature

The collection presentation displays an extensive array of nature, which is constantly being reexamined as a subject matter of art. Against the background of the performance art and concept art of the 1960s, artists such as Robert Smithson, Hamish Fulton, Richard Long, and Michael Heizer created a completely novel figurative relationship between artistic work and nature, which is now no longer merely depicted, as in landscape painting or photography, but instead constitutes the artwork as designed nature.

In numerous documentary works located at the intersection of land art, performance art, and concept art, nature is portrayed as a place of longing to be explored. Motifs from the Romantic period are adopted here, such as those in the work of Aachen artist duo Barbara and Michael Leisgen or the British artist Hamish Fulton, who predominantly present the secluded landscape as the landscape of the soul.

As an antithesis to the figurative art that the exhibition mainly focuses on, abstract works by Gerhard Richter, Lee Lozano, Klaus Rinke, Robert Morris, and Ron Cooper address natural phenomena that—playfully and with scientific mathematical precision—negotiate either nature or distant cosmic worlds, the subject of Nancy Graves’ works.

Kuratiert von Dr. Christian Haring

Ludwig Forum Aachen
Jülicher Straße 97–109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 (0)241 1807-104
Fax +49 (0)241 1807-101
info@ludwigforum.de

Opening hours
Tue-Sun 10am-5pm
Thu 10am-8pm
Closed on Monday

The library is open from Tuesday to Friday, 1-5 pm, and upon personal arrangement.

Guided tours and workshops
Tel. +49 (0)241 432-4998
museumsdienst@mail.aachen.de

Admission
Regular € 6.00
Reduced € 3.00

More Information

Events
Free admission
for all refugees and their volunteer companions
21.04.2022 – 31.12.2022
KIMIKO
Isle of Art Festival
05.08.2022 – 07.08.2022

Lade Veranstaltungen
Robert Smithson, Spiral Jetty, 1970, Foto: Anne Gold,© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, 2019

Natur betrachten

Werke aus der Sammlung Ludwig

06.09.19–01.03.20

Die Sammlungspräsentation zeigt ein sehr weitläufiges Spektrum von Natur, das als Sujet der Kunst immer wieder aufs Neue hinterfragt wird. Vor dem Hintergrund der Performance Art und Concept Art der 1960er Jahre, entstand mit Künstlern wie Robert Smithson, Hamish Fulton, Richard Long und Michael Heizer ein völlig neuer Gegenstandsbezug zwischen künstlerischem Werk und der Natur, die nun nicht mehr abgebildet wird, wie beispielsweise in der Landschaftsmalerei oder der Fotografie, sondern als gestaltete Natur das Kunstwerk konstituiert.

In zahlreichen dokumentarischen Arbeiten, die an der Schnittstelle zwischen Land Art, Performance Art und Concept Art zu verorten sind, wird Natur als ein zu erschließender Sehn suchtsort thematisiert. Hierbei werden Motive aus der Romantik aufgegriffen, wie beim Aachener Künstlerduo Barbara und Michael Leisgen oder dem britischen Künstler Hamish Fulton, die vornehmlich die abgeschiedene Landschaft als Seelenlandschaft thematisieren.

Als Gegenpol zur figurativen Kunst, die schwerpunktmäßig in der Ausstellung behandelt wird, beschäftigen sich abstrakte Arbeiten von Gerhard Richter, Lee Lozano, Klaus Rinke, Robert Morris und Ron Cooper mit natürlichen Phänomenen, die spielerisch und konkret mit wissenschaftlicher mathematischer Präzision Natur verhandeln, oder entfernte kosmische Welten, die in den Werken von Nancy Graves thematisiert werden.

Kuratiert von Dr. Christian Haring

Info

Jülicher Straße 97–109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 241 1807-104
Fax +49 241 1807-101
info@ludwigforum.de

 

Öffnungszeiten Museum:
Di–So 10–17 Uhr
Do 10–20 Uhr
ZENTIS-Tag, Eintritt frei für alle!

Öffnungszeiten Bibliothek:
Di–Fr 13–17 Uhr

Eintritt: 6 € / 3 € (ermäßigt)

Fragen zu Führungen / Workshops?
Tel. +49 241 1807-115
museumsdienst@mail.aachen.de

Preise

Eintritt: 6,00 € / 3,00 € (ermäßigt)

Alle unter 21 Jahren: Eintritt frei!
ZENTIS-Tag: Jeden Donnerstag freier Eintritt für alle!

„Six for Six“-Karte: 14 € / 10 € (erm.)
„Auf ins Museum“-Kombiticket: 25 €