Loading Events
Alternative view
of the calendar
Katrin Nenasheva, Between here and there, VR-Performance in Moscow 2017. Photo: Natalia Budantseva.

dis/order

Art and Activism in Russia since 2000

17.11.17–18.02.18

Opening: 2017/11/16, 7 pm

Framed by the hundred-year anniversary of the October Revolution and the presidential election in Russia in March 2018, the Ludwig Forum für Internationale Kunst looks at the situations and aesthetic forms of the political in contemporary art. In stark contrast to the perestroika years and the decade that followed, the 1990s, the pressure placed on a politically engaged art has increased continually in recent years. In response to the repressive practices of the “guided democracy,” many artists of the post-perestroika generation – a lot of them are born in the 1980s – have developed strategies of artistic resistance ranging from subtle expressions of discontent to open protest. Their sphere of activity is the public space and the Internet. The exhibition will explore a range of artistic positions from critical social analysis to political actions – both of which have an obvious affinity with the political activism of opposition movements – to sociopolitical utopias.

While the exhibition has been organized chronologically, the works of art are grouped according to specific characteristics that aim to contextualize artistic practices and activities. Categories include, for example, the legacy of communism in Russia, anarchism and punk culture, feminism, and stereotypes, as well as the support of migrants and minorities in Russia. At the same time, this classification poses the question of where the boundaries lie between art and activism and their strategies and movements. Archival material that documents the history of the censored exhibitions “Beware, Religion!” (2003) and “Forbidden Art” (2007) will accompany the artistic and activist positions of the exhibition, as well as a timeline that will highlight important political and artist-activist events from 2000 to the present.

Artists of the exhibition: Blue Noses, Bombily, Chto Delat, FFC (The Factory of Found Clothes), Gluklya (Natalya Pershina-Yakimanskaya), Gogol’s Wives, Alexey Iorsh, Olga Jitlina, Maria Kiselyeva, Victoria Lomasko, Artem Loskutov, MediaImpact, Denis Mustafin/ Vlad Chizhenkov/ Georgy Dorokhov, Nadenka Creative Association, Katrin Nenasheva, Anatoly Osmolovsky/ Nongovernmental Control Commission, Partizaning, PG Group, Pussy Riot, Queer-Feminist Affinity Art Group „Unwanted Organisation“, #quietprotest, Radek Community, Timofei Radya, Polina Rodriques, Shvemy Sewing Cooperative, Sveta Shuvaeva, The Trade Union of Street Artists, Tsvetafor, Urbanfeminism, Verhotura and Friends, Voina/Moscow, Alisa Yoffe, ZIP Group.

Accompanying the exhibition will be a publication (approx. 320 pp., Ger./Eng./Russ.), with contributions by Ilmira Bolotyan, Lena Jonson, Holger Otten and Tatiana Volkova, Anna Zaitseva, and Yevgenia Zubchenko, to be presented at Goethe-Institut St. Petersburg in spring 2018.

Curators of the exhibition: Holger Otten and Tatiana Volkova

 

The ex­hi­bi­tion is gener­ous­ly sup­port­ed by

Kunst Stiftung NRW

INFO

Jülicher Straße 97-109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 241 1807-104
Fax +49 241 1807-101

info@ludwigforum.de 

Opening hours

Tue–Sun 10 am–5 pm
Thu 10 am–8 pm
Mon closed

Library: Tue–Fri 1 pm–5 pm

Closed: 24.12., 25.12., 31.12.,
During Carnival Thu & Sun

ADMISSION

Admission(Art x Cuba/ 08.09.17–18.02.18)
Adults 10 €
Reduced 6 €
Groups starting from 8 persons 6 €/pers.
„Six for Six“-Ticket 14 € (reduced 10 €)
„Auf ins Museum“-Ticket 12 €
Everyone under 21 years of age: Free Admission!

From now on:
Zentis-Day: Every Thursday free Admission!

Lade Veranstaltungen
Katrin Nenasheva, Between here and there, VR-Performance in Moscow 2017. Photo: Natalia Budantseva.

dis/order

Art and Activism in Russia since 2000

17.11.17–18.02.18

Eröffnung: 16.11.2017, 19 Uhr

Zeitlich eingerahmt vom hundertsten Jahrestag der Oktoberrevolution und den Präsidentschaftswahlen in Russland im März 2018 blickt das Ludwig Forum auf Situationen und Formen des Politischen in der zeitgenössischen Kunst Russlands. Im Gegensatz zu den 1990er-Jahren war die Zeit seit dem ersten Amtsantritt Wladimir Putins im Jahr 2000 durch einen wachsenden staatlichen Druck auf sozial und politisch engagierte Kunst geprägt. Viele der zumeist in den 1980er-Jahren geborenen KünstlerInnen der Post-Perestroika-Generation entwickelten unterschiedliche Strategien des künstlerischen Widerstandes gegen die Repressionen der „gelenkten Demokratie“, die von subtilen Äußerungen bis hin zum offenen Protest reichen. Ihre Handlungsfelder sind hierbei insbesondere der öffentliche Raum und das Internet. Die Bandbreite der künstlerisch-aktivistischen Positionen reicht von kritischen Gesellschaftsanalysen über politische Aktionen, die in einer evidenten Nähe zum politischen Aktivismus oppositioneller Bewegungen stehen, bis hin zu gesellschaftspolitischen Utopien.

Die Ausstellung ist einerseits chronologisch und andererseits nach Aspekten aufgebaut, die bestimmte künstlerische Arbeiten und Aktivitäten kontextualisieren. Stichwortgebend sind z.B. das Erbe des Kommunismus, Anarchismus und Punk-Kultur, Feminismus und Stereotypen sowie die Unterstützung von Migranten und Minderheiten in Russland. Hierbei stellt sich stets die Frage nach den Grenzen zwischen Kunst und Aktivismus – nach ihren Strategien und Bewegungen. Begleitet werden die künstlerischen und aktivistischen Positionen von Zeitdokumenten, die beispielsweise die Geschichte der zensierten Ausstellungen „Achtung, Religion!“ (2003) und „Verbotene Kunst“ (2007) nacherzählen, und einem Zeitstrahl, der wichtige politische und künstlerisch-aktivistische Ereignisse von 2000 bis heute veranschaulicht.

KünstlerInnen der Ausstellung: Blue Noses, Bombily, Chto Delat, FFC (The Factory of Found Clothes), Gluklya (Natalia Perschina-Jakimanskaja), Gogol’s Wives, Olga Jitlina, Alisa Joffe, Alexej Jorsch, Maria Kiseljewa, Viktoria Lomasko, Artjom Loskutow, MediaImpact, Denis Mustafin/ Wlad Tschischenkow/ Georgi Dorochow, Nadenka Creative Association, Katrin Nenaschewa, Anatoli Osmolowski/ Nongovernmental Control Commission, Partizaning, PG Group, Pussy Riot, Queer-Feminist Affinity Art Group „Unwanted Organisation“, #quietprotest, Radek Community, Timofei Radia, Polina Rodrigues, Sweta Shuwajewa, Shvemy Sewing Cooperative, The Trade Union of Street Artists, Tsvetafor, Urbanfeminism, Verhotura and Friends, Woina/Moskau, ZIP Group.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint eine Publikation (ca. 320 Seiten, Dt./Engl./Russ.) mit Beiträgen von Ilmira Bolotyan, Lena Jonson, Anna Zaitseva, Yevgenia Zubchenko sowie Tatiana Volkova und Holger Otten, die im Frühjahr 2018 im Goethe-Institut St. Petersburg präsentiert wird.

KuratorInnen der Ausstellung: Holger Otten und Tatiana Volkova

 

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

Kunst Stiftung NRW

Info

Jülicher Straße 97–109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 241 1807-104
Fax +49 241 1807-101

info@ludwigforum.de

Öffnungszeiten

Di–So 10–17 Uhr
Do 10–20 Uhr
Montags geschlossen

Bibliothek: Di–Fr 13–17 Uhr

Geschlossen: 24.12., 25.12., 31.12., Fettdonnerstag, Karnevals-
sonntag und Rosenmontag

Preise

Eintrittspreise (Kunst x Kuba/ 08.09.17–18.02.18)
Erwachsene 10 €
Ermäßigt 6 €
Gruppen ab 8 Pers. 6 €/Pers.
„Six for Six“-Karte 14 € (ermäß. 10 €)
„Auf ins Museum“-Karte 12 €
Alle unter 21 Jahren: Eintritt frei!

Ab sofort:
Zentis-Tag: Jeden Donnerstag freier Eintritt!