Loading Events
Alternative view
of the calendar
Almagul Menlibayeva, Transoxiana Dreams, 2011, HD Video, schwarz-weiss und Farbe, 23 Min., Videostill, courtesy American-Eurasian Art Advisors LLC

Videozone: Almagul Menlibayeva

Transoxiana Dreams

16.11.14–22.02.15

Shamans, nomads, and socialism: Kazakhstan, onetime Soviet federated state lying between Europe and Asia, is a country of contrasts. The Kazak artist Almagul Menlibayeva explores these contrasts in her video works, alternating between documentary film and mythological storytelling. Her poetically-charged images, which she combines with a realistic view on desolate landscapes, give an impression of both the ongoing traditions and dramatic disintegration in her homeland.

Transoxiana Dreams (2011) looks at the social and ecological changes, the result of large-scale misguided communist projects, impacting on the region around the Aral Sea, once the fourth largest inland sea in the world. Almagul Menlibayeva immerses us in the dream world of a fisherman’s young daughter, letting us take part in her father’s search for the lake in the dried-out steppe. In visually stunning shots, centaur-like female figures keep appearing in the barren landscape, evoking the local nomadic tradition in the inhospitable post-Soviet environment.

Intriguingly strange female figures also play a role in the two other films. In Kissing Totems (2008) we encounter them on the grounds of a derelict factory, while in Exodus (2009) they are present as the nomads of the steppe break camp.

In all three works we see Kazakhstan’s desolate landscapes and ruins through the eyes of young girls. Alternating between dream and reality, they show us a picture of their homeland attempting to find its place between past and present.

Courtesy American-Eurasian Art Advisors LLC
Curator: Miriam Lowack

Videozone: Almagul Menlibayeva, Installation Views

1412_Ost-0205

 

1412_Ost-0231

 

1412_Ost-0184
Photos: Carl Brunn / Ludwig Forum Aachen

INFO

Jülicher Straße 97-109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 241 1807-104
Fax +49 241 1807-101

info@ludwigforum.de 

Opening hours

Tue–Sun 10 am–5 pm
Thu 10 am–8 pm
Mon closed

Library: Tue–Fri 1 pm–5 pm

Closed: 24.12., 25.12., 31.12.,
During Carnival Thu & Sun

ADMISSION

Admission
Adults 8 €
Reduced 5 €
Groups starting from 8 persons 5 €/pers.
Six for Six- Ticket 14 € (reduced 10 €)
Everyone under 21 years of age: Free Admission!

From now on:
Zentis-Day: Every Thursday free Admission!

Almagul Menlibayeva, Transoxiana Dreams, 2011, HD Video, schwarz-weiss und Farbe, 23 Min., Videostill, courtesy American-Eurasian Art Advisors LLC

Videozone: Almagul Menlibayeva

Schamanen, Nomaden und Sozialismus: Kasachstan, einstiger sowjetischer Teilstaat zwischen Europa und Asien, ist ein Land der Gegensätze. Diese thematisiert die kasachische Künstlerin Almagul Menlibayeva in ihren zwischen Dokumentarfilm und mythologischer Erzählung schwankenden Videoarbeiten. Ihre poetisch aufgeladenen Bilder, die sie mit einem realistischen Blick auf verwüstete Landschaften mischt, vermitteln einen Eindruck der Traditionen und Brüche in ihrem Heimatland.

In der Arbeit Transoxiana Dreams (2011) geht es um die durch kommunistische Misswirtschaft verursachten sozialen und ökologischen Veränderungen in der Region rund um den Aralsee, dem einst viertgrößten Binnensee der Erde. Almagul Menlibayeva lässt uns in die Traumwelt einer jungen Fischerstochter eintauchen, wo wir an der Suche ihres Vaters nach dem See in der ausgetrockneten Steppe teilnehmen. In bildgewaltigen Einstellungen erscheinen in der kargen Landschaft immer wieder zentaurenartige Frauengestalten, die in der unwirtlichen post-sowjetischen Umgebung an die nomadische Tradition der Bewohner der Region erinnern.

Fantastische Frauenfiguren spielen auch in den beiden anderen Filmen eine Rolle. In Kissing Totems (2008) begegnen sie uns auf einem verlassenen Fabrikgelände, während sie in Exodus (2009) dem Aufbruch nomadischer Steppenbewohner beiwohnen.

In allen drei Arbeiten sehen wir die verlassenen Landschaften und Ruinen Kasachstans durch die Augen junger Mädchen. Zwischen Traum und Wirklichkeit changierend, zeigen sie uns ein Bild ihrer Heimat, die sich zwischen Vergangenheit und Gegenwart zu positionieren versucht.

Courtesy American-Eurasian Art Advisors LLC
Kuratorin: Miriam Lowack

Videozone: Almagul Menlibayeva, Ausstellungsansichten

1412_Ost-0205

 

1412_Ost-0184

 

1412_Ost-0231
Fotos: Carl Brunn / Ludwig Forum Aachen

Ludwig Forum Aachen
Jülicher Straße 97–109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 241 1807-104
Fax +49 241 1807-101
info@ludwigforum.de

Öffnungszeiten
Mo geschlossen
Di–So 10–18 Uhr
Do 10–20 Uhr (außer an Feiertagen)

Fragen zu Führungen / Workshops
Tel.: +49 241 432-4998
museumsdienst@mail.aachen.de

Veranstaltungen
Kunstrauschen 10
Süße Lügen? – auf Menschensuche
12.09.2021 – 09.10.2021
Loredana Nemes. beautiful
Eröffnung
23.09.2021, 19:00 Uhr
Radierkurs
Workshop
02.10.2021, 13:00 – 16:30 Uhr
Beat the System! Provokation Kunst
Eröffnung
08.10.2021, 19:00 Uhr