Loading Events
Alternative view
of the calendar
dan

Dan Perjovschi

Drawing the World

11.03.21–06.06.21

Dan Perjovschi (*1961 Sibiu) is one of the most important representatives of an art that resolutely intervenes in global socio-political and cultural issues and problems. He is known for his striking pictorial language of pictograms and wordplay, he has advanced since the second half of the 1990s to become an internationally renowned artist whose works have been shown at the Venice Biennale, the Tate Modern London, the Museum of Modern Art New York and the Centre Pompidou in Paris.

The exhibition Drawing the World at the Ludwig Forum Aachen is representative of his 35-year creative period. Among them are rare, very early works, such as Urzeala from 1986/1988, as well as small photo sequences of his performative actions in Oradea, where he lived between 1985 and 1990.

Furthermore, the exhibition will show editions of the weekly Revista 22 with weekly drawings by Dan Perjovschi from the Centre for Artists’ Publications at Weserburg Museum as well as key works, such as Antropothek (1992), Chalk Reality (2010-2011) and the latest series on the Corona pandemic Virus Diary (2020). The highlight will be a wall work that the artist will execute on site.

Curated by Dr. Annette Lagler and Dr. Alexandra Kolossa
Curatorial assistance: Maren Hoch

Sponsored by: Peter und Irene Ludwig Stiftung, Aachen

INFO

Jülicher Straße 97-109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 241 1807-104
Fax +49 241 1807-101
info@ludwigforum.de 

 

online time slot reservation

 

Opening hours
Tue–Sun 10am – 6pm
Thu 10am – 8pm
Mon closed

Library
Tue–Fri 1–5pm

Closed: 24.12., 25.12., 31.12.,
During Carnival Thu & Sun

Admission 6 € / reduced 4 €

Guided tours and workshops
museumsdienst@mail.aachen.de

ADMISSION

6,00 € / reduced 4,00 €

Everyone under 21 years of age: Free Admission!
Zentis-Day: Every Thursday free Admission!

„Six for Six“-Ticket 14 € (reduced 10 €)
„Auf ins Museum“-Ticket 12 €

Dan Perjovschi, single use, 2020-2021, Zeichnung auf Papier, Maße variabel, aus: Virus Diary Series, © Dan Perjovschi

Dan Perjovschi

Dan Perjovschi (*1961 Sibiu, Rumänien) ist unter den rumänischen Künstler*innen einer der wichtigsten Vertreter*innen, die sich entschieden in globale gesellschaftspolitische und kulturelle Zu- und Missstände einmischen. Bekannt durch seine markante Bildsprache aus Piktogrammen und Wortspielen, avancierte er seit der zweiten Hälfte der 1990er-Jahre zum international renommierten Künstler, dessen Werke auf der Biennale von Venedig, in der Tate Modern, London, im Museum of Modern Art, New York und im Pariser Centre Pompidou gezeigt wurden.

Die Ausstellung Drawing the World im Ludwig Forum Aachen zeigt repräsentativ seine nunmehr 35 Jahre währende Schaffenszeit. Darunter seltene, sehr frühe Arbeiten, wie Urzeala von 1986/1988 sowie kleine Fotosequenzen seiner performativen Aktionen in Oradea, wo er zwischen 1985 und 1990 lebte.

Weiterhin zeigt die Ausstellung Ausgaben der Wochenzeitung Revista 22 mit Perjovschis tagesaktuellen Zeichnungen aus dem Zentrum für Künstlerpublikationen im Weserburg Museum sowie die Schlüsselwerke, Antropothek (1992), Chalk Reality (2010-2011) und die neueste Serie zur Corona-Pandemie Virus Diary (2020). Das Highlight der Ausstellung wird eine neue Wandarbeit sein, die der Künstler im März vor Ort ausführt.

 

Kuratiert von Dr. Annette Lagler und Dr. Alexandra Kolossa
Kuratorische Assistenz: Maren Hoch

 

Die Ausstellung wird großzügig gefördert von der Peter und Irene Ludwig Stiftung.

 

Ludwig Forum Aachen
Jülicher Straße 97–109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 (0)241 1807-104
Fax +49 (0)241 1807-101
info@ludwigforum.de

Öffnungszeiten
Di-So 10-17 Uhr
Do 10-20 Uhr
Montag geschlossen

Die Bibliothek ist von Dienstag bis Freitag von 13 bis 17 Uhr und nach persönlicher Vereinbarung geöffnet.

Führungen und Workshops
Tel. +49 (0)241 432-4998
museumsdienst@mail.aachen.de

Eintrittspreise 
Regulär 6,00 €
Ermäßigt 3,00 €

Mehr Informationen

Veranstaltungen
Freier Eintritt
für alle Geflüchteten und ihre ehrenamtlichen Begleiter*innen
21.04.2022 – 31.12.2022
Bad Words
Keren Cytter
25.06.2022 – 25.09.2022
Workshops in den Ferien
Angebote für Kinder und Jugendliche
28.06.2022 – 29.07.2022
Öffentliche Führung
03.07.2022
15:00 – 16:00