Geometry and Flowers

Collection Ludwig

Laurie Anderson, Donald Baechler, Jo Baer, Christo & Jeanne-Claude, Brad Davis, Donna Dennis, Jim Dine, Nancy Graves, Richard Hamilton, Alex Hay, Valerie Jaudon, Jasper Johns, Joan Jonas, On Kawara, Joyce Kozloff, Robert Kushner, Sol LeWitt, Roy Lichtenstein, Lee Lozano, Kim MacConnel, Robert Morris, Bruce Nauman, Robert Rauschenberg, Miriam Schapiro, Ned Smyth, Andy Warhol, Peter Young

The exhibition Geometry and Flowers from the Ludwig Forum’s extensive collection presents around fifty works by mainly North American artists from the 1960s to the 1980s, proving that Peter and Irene Ludwig’s collection has far more to offer than the Pop Art which has made it famous. Geometry and Flowers draws an arc between the strict geometric forms of Minimalist painting and the colorful floral motifs of the Pattern and Decoration movement – both artistic movements that have each made significant contributions to art history in their own way.

From today’s perspective, looking back offers the opportunity to experience works of art together that have never met before in time or place. Joan Jonas’s video work Disturbances (1974) can be viewed alongside Bruce Nauman’s Wall-Floor Positions (1968) – both having in common the artistic incorporation of the artist’s own body into the work, despite their very different content. Sol LeWitt’s conceptual drawings come to encounter the equally intricate studies of weaving patterns by Joyce Kozloff, to name just two of several examples of how this presentation of the collection departs from the established narrative of postwar modernism.

Part of this shift in perspective is the dedication of a separate room to the Pattern and Decoration movement, as well as highlighting works by Laurie Anderson, Jo Baer, Donna Dennis, Nancy Graves, Valerie Jaudon, Joan Jonas, Joyce Kozloff, Lee Lozano, and Miriam Schapiro, some of the important protagonists of the 1960s and 1970s, as the achievements of many women artists – and not only at that time – have often been overlooked or marginalized.

Curated by Eva Birkenstock, Annette Lagler and Holger Otten

Ludwig Forum Aachen
Jülicher Straße 97–109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 (0)241 1807-104
Fax +49 (0)241 1807-101
info@ludwigforum.de

Opening hours
Tue-Sun 10am-5pm
Thu 10am-8pm
Closed on Monday

The library is open from Tuesday to Friday, 1-5 pm, and upon personal arrangement.

Guided tours and workshops
Tel. +49 (0)241 432-4998
museumsdienst@mail.aachen.de

Admission
Regular € 6.00
Reduced € 3.00

More Information

Events
Free admission
for all refugees and their volunteer companions
21.04.2022 – 31.12.2022
KIMIKO
Isle of Art Festival
05.08.2022 – 07.08.2022

Geometry and Flowers

Sammlung Ludwig

Laurie Anderson, Donald Baechler, Jo Baer, Christo & Jeanne-Claude, Brad Davis, Donna Dennis, Jim Dine, Nancy Graves, Richard Hamilton, Alex Hay, Valerie Jaudon, Jasper Johns, Joan Jonas, On Kawara, Joyce Kozloff, Robert Kushner, Sol LeWitt, Roy Lichtenstein, Lee Lozano, Kim MacConnel, Robert Morris, Bruce Nauman, Robert Rauschenberg, Miriam Schapiro, Ned Smyth, Andy Warhol, Peter Young

Die Sammlungspräsentation Geometry and Flowers stellt aus den umfangreichen Beständen des Ludwig Forum rund 50 Arbeiten vorwiegend nordamerikanischer Künstlerinnen und Künstler der 1960er bis 1980er Jahre vor, die zeigen, dass die Sammlung von Peter und Irene Ludwig weit mehr zu bieten hat als Pop Art, mit der sie berühmt wurde. So schlägt Geometry and Flowers einen Bogen von den strengen geometrischen Formen der minimalistischen Malerei zu den farbenfrohen floralen Motiven der Pattern-and-Decoration-Bewegung – beides künstlerische Strömungen, die jeweils auf ihre Weise einen bedeutsamen Beitrag zur Kunstgeschichte geleistet haben.

Aus heutiger Perspektive bietet der Blick zurück die Möglichkeit, künstlerische Arbeiten zusammen zu sehen, die sich zeitlich oder örtlich nie begegnet sind. So findet sich in dieser Ausstellung Joan Jonas’ Videoarbeit Disturbances (1974) neben Bruce Naumans Wall-Floor Positions (1968) – unter inhaltlich sehr unterschiedlichen Vorzeichen ist beiden Arbeiten die künstlerische Einbringung des eigenen Körpers ins Werk gemeinsam. Sol LeWitts konzeptuellen Zeichnungen begegnen nicht minder filigrane Studien zu Webmustern von Joyce Kozloff, um nur zwei von mehreren Beispielen zu nennen, bei denen diese Sammlungspräsentation von der etablierten Erzählung der Nachkriegsmoderne abweicht.

Zu der Verschiebung des Blicks gehört auch, dass der Pattern-and-Decoration-Bewegung ein eigener Raum gewidmet ist und dass mit Arbeiten von Laurie Anderson, Jo Baer, Donna Dennis, Nancy Graves, Valerie Jaudon, Joan Jonas, Joyce Kozloff, Lee Lozano und Miriam Schapiro einige wichtige Protagonistinnen der 1960er und 1970er Jahre besonders hervorgehoben sind, wurden doch die Leistungen vieler Künstlerinnen – und dies nicht nur in jener Zeit – oftmals übersehen oder marginalisiert.

Kuratiert von Eva Birkenstock, Annette Lagler und Holger Otten

Ludwig Forum Aachen
Jülicher Straße 97–109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 (0)241 1807-104
Fax +49 (0)241 1807-101
info[at]ludwigforum.de

Öffnungszeiten
Di-So 10-17 Uhr
Do 10-20 Uhr
Montag geschlossen

Bibliothek
Di-Fr 13-17 Uhr

Führungen und Workshops
+49 241 432 4998
museumsdienst[at]mail.aachen.de

Öffentliche Führungen
Jeden Do, 17 Uhr und So, 15 Uhr
Kosten: 2,00 € zzgl. Museumseintritt

Eintrittspreise
Regulär 6,00 €
Ermäßigt 3,00 €

Mehr Informationen

Veranstaltungen
Öffentliche Führung
09.02.2023
17:00 – 18:00
Sonntagsmaler
Offene Kreativ-Werkstatt
12.02.2023
14:00 – 16:00
Öffentliche Führung
12.02.2023
15:00 – 16:00
„Führung am Vormittag“
Öffentliche Senior*innenführung
23.02.2023
11:00 – 12:00
Öffentliche Führung
23.02.2023
17:00 – 18:00
Siebdruckkurs
mit der Designerin Petra Sahm
23.02.2023 – 20.04.2023