Rosemary Mayer

Ways of Attaching

Opening March 4, 2022, 7 pm

Ways of Attaching is the first survey exhibition in Europe by the U.S. artist Rosemary Mayer (1943-2014). The exhibition provides insight into Mayer’s body of work over four decades; moving from early conceptual experiments of the late 1960s through to textile sculptures and drawings made in the early 1970s, before focusing on propositional and durational performances and temporary monuments from 1977-1982 and resuming book illustrations in the early 2000s. Highlighting Mayer’s formal interest in draping, knotting and tethering, the exhibition focuses on the artist’s process of constructing real and imagined networks and constellations, in which friends and historical figures feature in expressions of affinity and attachment.

About Rosemary Mayer

Rosemary Mayer (1943-2014) was a prolific artist involved in the New York art scene beginning in the late 1960s. Mayer was a founding member of A.I.R. Gallery, the first cooperative gallery for women in the U.S. and had one of the earliest shows there. During the 1970s and 1980s, her work was also shown at many New York alternative art spaces, including The Clocktower, Sculpture Center and Franklin Furnace, and in university galleries throughout the country. In 1982, her translation of the diary of Mannerist artist Jacopo da Pontormo was published along with a catalogue of her work. Recent exhibitions of Mayer’s work have taken place at Southfirst, Brooklyn (2016), Lamar Dodd School of Art at the University of Georgia (2017), ChertLüdde, Berlin (2020) and Gordon Robichaux, New York (2021). Her work was included in the exhibition Bizarre Silks, Private Imaginings and Narrative Facts, etc., curated by Nick Mauss at Kunsthalle Basel (2020).

About the exhibition

Rosemary Mayer: Ways of Attaching is the first exhibition curated by Eva Birkenstock as the new director of the Ludwig Forum Aachen. The exhibition will be accompanied by a presentation of the collection, jointly developed with the curatorial team of the Ludwig Forum Aachen.

The exhibition is organized together with Marie and Max Warsh of the Estate of Rosemary Mayer and in partnership with Swiss Institute, New York, Lenbachhaus, Munich and Spike Island, Bristol.

The exhibition is made possible through support from the Ludwig Stiftung, the Kunststiftung NRW and the Terra Foundation of American Art.

Ludwig Forum Aachen
Jülicher Straße 97–109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 (0)241 1807-104
Fax +49 (0)241 1807-101
info@ludwigforum.de

Opening hours
Mon closed
Tue – Sun 10 am – 5 pm
Thu 10 am – 8 pm (except public holidays)

Guided tours and workshops
Tel. +49 (0)241 432-4998
museumsdienst@mail.aachen.de

Rosemary Mayer

Ways of Attaching

Eröffnung Fr, 04.03.2022, 19 Uhr

Ways of Attaching ist die erste umfassende institutionalle Überblicksausstellung der US-amerikanischen Künstlerin Rosemary Mayer (1943-2014) in Europa. Die Ausstellung liefert umfangreiche Einblicke in die vielseitige Arbeitsweise der Künstlerin: von frühen konzeptuellen Experimenten der späten 1960er-Jahre, über Textilskulpturen und Zeichnungen aus den frühen 1970ern, ihren Dauerperformances und ,temporären Monumenten’, die zwischen 1977 und 1982 entstanden sind, bis hin zu Zeichnungen und Buchillustrationen der 2000er-Jahre. Hervorgehoben werden insbesondere Mayers skulpturale Methoden wie Drapieren, Knoten und Verknüpfen sowie ihr Arbeiten in realen und imaginären Netzwerken und Konstellationen, bestehend aus Freund*innen und historischen Figuren.

Über Rosemary Mayer

Rosemary Mayer (1943-2014) war seit den späten 1960er-Jahren in der New Yorker Kunstszene aktiv. Eine der ersten Ausstellungen hatte sie in der der New Yorker A.I.R. Gallery, der ersten kooperativen Galerie für Frauen in den USA, die sie mitgegründete. In den 1970er und 1980er Jahren wurden ihre Arbeiten in alternativen Ausstellungsräumen in New York gezeigt, darunter The Clocktower, Sculpture Center und Franklin Furnace, sowie in Universitätsgalerien im ganzen Land. Im Jahr 1982 wurde ihre Übersetzung des Tagebuchs des manieristischen Künstlers Jacopo da Pontormo zusammen mit einem Katalog ihrer Arbeiten veröffentlicht. In der jüngeren Vergangenheit waren Ausstellungen von Rosemary Mayer bei Southfirst, Brooklyn (2016), Lamar Dodd School of Art an der University of Georgia (2017), ChertLüdde, Berlin (2020), Gordon Robichaux, New York (2021) und dem Swiss Institute, New York (2021/22) zu sehen. Schließlich war sie mit Arbeiten in der von Nick Mauss kuratierten Ausstellung Bizarre Silks, Private Imaginings and Narrative Facts, etc. in der Kunsthalle Basel (2020) vertreten.

Über die Ausstellung

Bei Rosemary Mayer. Ways of Attaching handelt es sich um die erste von Eva Birkenstock kuratierte Ausstellung als neue Direktorin des Ludwig Forum Aachen. Begleitet wird die Ausstellung von einer Sammlungspräsentation, die gemeinsam vom kuratorischen Team des Ludwig Forum Aachen erarbeitet wird.

Die Ausstellung wird in Zusammenarbeit mit Marie und Max Warsh aus dem Nachlass von Rosemary Mayer und in Partnerschaft mit dem Swiss Institute, New York, dem Lenbachhaus, München und Spike Island, Bristol, organisiert.

Die Ausstellung wird ermöglicht durch die Unterstützung der Ludwig Stiftung, der Kunststiftung NRW und der Terra Foundation for American Art.

Ludwig Forum Aachen
Jülicher Straße 97–109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 (0)241 1807-104
Fax +49 (0)241 1807-101
info@ludwigforum.de

Öffnungszeiten
Mo geschlossen
Di–So 10–17 Uhr
Do 10–20 Uhr (außer an Feiertagen)

Führungen und Workshops
Tel. +49 (0)241 432-4998
museumsdienst@mail.aachen.de

Veranstaltungen
Spuk im Museum
Taschenlampenführung für Kinder und Jugendliche ab 12 Jahren
21.01.2022, 18:00 – 19:00 Uhr
Öffentliche Führung
Beat the System! Provokation Kunst
23.01.2022, 15:00 – 16:00 Uhr
Öffentliche Führung
Beat the System! Provokation Kunst
27.01.2022, 18:00 – 19:00 Uhr
Familienbande
Großeltern-Enkelkinder-Programm
30.01.2022, 14:00 – 16:00 Uhr